You are viewing an archived production from GöteborgsOperan.

Back to main site

Autumn Concert 2011

Concert. Make the rain and grey of autumn disappear by joining us for a night of romanticism.

October 12, 2012.

The Göteborg Opera Orchestra will be conducted by Henrik Schaefer and our very own soloists Carolina Sandgren, Ingemar Anderson and Markus Schwartz guarantee that it will be a night filled with beautiful singing.

Watch clips from the rehearsals.

Rehearsal of "Unfinished Symphony" with the Göteborg Orchestra. Conductor Henrik Schaefer.

Piano rehersal with soloist Carolina Sandgren. Conductor Henrik Schaefer, pianist Anders Ottosson.

Conductor Henrik Schaefer is well known at the Göteborg Opera for his interpretation of Mozart operas. He is a man of many talents however, and here he returns to the Göteborg Opera for a concert with a repertoire based on Early German Romanticism, which he will be performing in a manner authentic to the period.

The concert will include works by the two great Romanticists Schumann and Schubert. The overture and two longer pieces from the Schumann opera Genoveva (1847) will be performed by soloists Carolina Sandgren, Ingemar Andersson and Markus Schwartz, and from the oratorioSzenen aus Goethes Faust by the same composer we will hear the overture and two arias. After the break we will hear orchestral music by Schubert: Symphony no 8, B minor "Unfinished". Schubert only had time to compose the first bars of the last movement of this symphony. After a short introduction by conductor Henrik Schaefer the Göteborg Opera Orchestra will perform the symphony, up until the last bar written by Schubert. There will also be interval music in the form of the play Rosamunde.

With its 85 musicians, the Göteborg Opera Orchestra is one of the largest in Sweden. This will be its only concert during the autumn season.

GöteborgsOperans Orkester 2011
GöteborgsOperans Orkester 2011 Photo: Joakim Roos


  • Genre: Concert
  • Season: 2011/2012
  • First show: 12 Oct 2011
  • Last show: 12 Oct 2011
  • Location:

    Main Stage

  • Length: 1 hours 45 min including 1 pause.

Takes part

Conductor   Henrik Schaefer
Soloist   Carolina Sandgren
Soloist   Ingemar Anderson
Soloist   Markus Schwartz
The Göteborg Opera Orchestra


Play Interval